Change

Change: It’s a word I’ve thought a lot about these past few months, or rather the last year. But today is the first time it’s finally clicked. I’ve come to the realization that without change we are simply stuck in the same place, never getting the chance to experience what life has to offer. Yes, sometimes life has some pretty crappy things to throw at us, but it’s the stuff we learn during those moments that matter the most.

Quotes-On-Change-In-Peoples-Attitude.jpg“Change is difficult, not changing is fatal.” I came across this picture while on Pinterest, on a day when change hit me full force right between the eyes.

Two years ago, if someone had told me I’d be where I am today, I would have laughed. I would have told them they were crazy and kept walking. I might’ve even told them that I would never let my life get so out of hand. And yet here I am, stuck in a place I never thought I would be, dealing with things I never thought I would deal with.

Lessons had to be learned – I know that now. A giant mountain was placed in my wake. When I say giant, I mean GIANT! And truth be told, I’m still trying to find my way over it.  And each day I try, I get that much closer to making it.

So what has gotten me this far?

Family, my children, the inspiring words of a man I am more and more grateful to call my husband each day – each person in my life has been my strong hold, my cheerleaders and sometimes the ones to dish out some much needed tough love.

I was stuck in a bundle of fear. I had wrapped myself up in it, never letting change touch me – at least not until it was thrown at me without my control. Control is a funny thing. It wasn’t until this experience that I truly realized I might have a control problem. And the harder I try to control my situation and those around me, the harder that mountain has been to climb. So I’m learning to let go. To take what the mountain has to offer and soak in everything I can learn from it. I am also grateful for the challenge. Through all the tears, the pain, the heartache, I’ve learned more about myself in the last seven months than the previous twenty-six years of my life.

Have I fallen flat on my face trying to climb this mountain… oh gosh, yes! In fact, I’ve fallen so hard that I’m pretty sure there was skin missing off my face. But what’s beautiful about falling? Getting back up and starting over fresh. And the best part about it is, that fresh start begins with new knowledge and a lesson learned.

I truly believe that we are thrown obstacles for a reason. They were meant to be a lesson… but only if we’re willing to learn from them. Remember, no matter how dark and scary life might seem, there is always a light at the end of the tunnel. It’s all on you. Are you going to let life defeat you, or are you going to conquer it?

My decision… I’m going to conquer it.

Leave a Reply

